Pictures from the past

Recently, my dad began scanning family photos to preserve them digitally. I have opted not to show my family’s faces, but the color photos are especially striking, having been taken about 30 years ago in the 1970s (unfortunately most of the photos are undated). There’s a timeless quality about photos taken with manual cameras, in contrast to today’s digital cameras. I can’t explain it, but there’s a certain depth in them. I cropped out my family, which explains the differing quality in the photos. Here’s a small snippet:

Bogyoke Aung San Park

Bogyoke Aung San Park in central Rangoon.

Inya Lake Hotel

Inya Lake Hotel was among one of the few nice hotels (others included the Strand and Thamada) in Rangoon during the 70s and 80s.

Famous Inya Lake Hotel columns

The famous Inya Lake Hotel columns, which was a prime picture-taking spot back in the day.

Inya Lake

Paved cement around Inya Lake in front of the Hotel.

Sule Pagoda

Sule Pagoda in downtown Rangoon.

Padauk blossoms

Padauk tree blossoms in Rangoon.

?

Could anyone clue me in on what that building is?

?

Could anyone clue me in on what that building is too?

RASU Commencement Hall

The seal of Rangoon University above the Commencement Hall.

University of Medicine emblem

The emblem of Institute of Medicine-1, Rangoon, taken at my aunt's graduation ceremony.

Medical school graduates taking graduation photos

Families proudly posing for graduation photos.

5 thoughts on “Pictures from the past

  1. Frank Janmaat says:

    Thank you so much for the old pictures you published of the Inya Lake. Quite a few changes, certainly the main entrance. Pillars, as you might know, are still there. Do you have any more?

    Best regards,

    Frank Janmaat
    GM Inya Lake Hotel

  2. Enzo says:

    Good morning Aung Kyaw and congratulations for your interesting blog. There are so few blogs in Myanmar and about Myanmar that your contribution (still from Los Angeles) is very important.
    I visited Burma in 2007. It is a fascinating country, with wonderful people, but the situation was really painful. Really sad.
    Since then I’ve begun to write about the country on my blogs (I’m Italian living in Spain) and in some Italian magazines. My two cents to give some informations about that neglected reality.
    I’d like to leave you a link to some pictures I took in Burma two years ago, to share with you and your readers in this post that talk about photos. Let’s call them “Pictures from the recent past”. I hope you will appreciate them:

    Birmania 2007 - Yangon

    Keep up the good work and, if you want, let’s keep in contact.

    Enzo
    1972.splinder.com
    asiaedintorni.blogosfere.it

  3. Frank Janmaat says:

    Dear Aung Kyaw,

    Thank you for your response. Yes the pillars from the Inya Lake Hotel are white now, but now I saw your pictures from the past I consider to bring them back in the original color.

    Please drop in for a coffee or tea whenever you are around at the Inya Lake.

    Best regards,

    Frank

Leave a Reply

